Thread: No flashbacks, no footnotes....

Default No flashbacks, no footnotes....

it was clearly stated in the X-Office, I can't remember right now if it was in the Morrison Manifesto in the New X-Men HC, or on an interview with Morrison, as well as Claremont's X-Fan board somewhere I think, that they weren't allowed to go back into the past and add details to events that never happened, so as not to confuse readers.
    I definitely remember that it was a line of Claremont's that editorial didn't want confusing-to-new-readers things even mentioned, such as Bishop being from a future possible timeline. An abosulte "no you can't, ever!" is a bit absurd, but I can understand the reasoning behind it as it often does create confusion. Claremont rose to the challenge well, giving Bishop lines like "I was a cop where I came from." New readers can accept that, old readers already know where he came from. And, this being Claremont, further explanation might have been too long winded.

Claremont also serves on the confusion angle here, also with X-Treme. My case in point is Magma.
    She comes from "Nova Roma" a time-lost remaining colony of Ancient Rome, where they still had gladiatorial fights (a fight plot I personally detest as ultimate cliche.)
    Later writers also found that lame. Instead of ignoring it, they filled in backstory that all the citizens of Nova Roma were kidnap victims brainwashed into thinking they were who they were. Magma, then known as Amara Aquilla, was revealed to be an Englishwoman named Alison Crestmere. The character was used well when she was used, and subsequent writers even followed through with Claremont's old future-hints that Magma was one New Mutant "destined" to go to the dark side.